Egg overload

I have an excessive overload of eggs at the moment.  My lovely free range hens are laying like crazy!!  After giving dozens away to family and friends, I still have enough to feed the family with.  So I have been trying to make eggs interesting so we don’t get bored with them 🙂

Todays lunch turned out to be very unintentionally green!!  I had cooked poached eggs for my overnight visitors for breakfast so after everyone left I made myself a quick lunch.  As you may have gathered from my previous posts, quick and easy is my motto 🙂  I had a scrounge in the fridge and came up with this delicious and nutritious lunch:

Asparagus spears – I threw them in the poaching water

Baby spinach

Leek

Avocado

and of course poached eggs.

Looking at it now I could have dressed it with Himalayan salt, cracked pepper and lemon juice.  Around 10 minutes from start to finish, waiting for the water to boil took the longest time!!!, and I sat down to a delicious lunch.

green-lunch

 

I always keep a selection of veg in the fridge but my staples are usually leek, capsicum,spinach, mushroom and garlic.  Every time I cook, these go in my meal.  I incorporate them for their nutritional values and their immense benefits to my digestive health.  Our digestive system is so important for our overall health and the myriad of symptoms that can be resolved when our digestive system is functioning efficiently is remarkable.  There is so much information on the internet to sift through regarding gut health and in particular its connections to the immune system and brain.

Keeping this in mind I think about what the benefits of my meals are for my body as well as how quick and easy I can prepare it.  When I had a whole pile of visitors for tea I cooked a spaghetti bolognese for them and for myself, as a pescatarian, I sautéed the following veg to mix in my pasta:

Leek

Capsicum

Mushroom

Spinach

Cherry Tomatoes

Asparagus.

I topped it off with fresh basil and parmesan cheese.  Because I was cooking for so many people, of course I made too much.  I popped it in a container in the fridge to use later.  When I pulled it out the next day I realised that by cooking it all at once, I had made it easier for myself for the next meal!!  So from now on I will make a double batch each time.

 

I used these leftovers to make a fritatta the next day.  Using a whole pile of my eggs, I added the pricked veg and some almond milk.  I topped it with the leftover grated parmesan and basil and after 40 minutes in the oven I had another meal.  This fritatta is nice cold as well so I had it for lunch the next day with a bit of salad on the side.

veg-frittatta

Leave a Reply

