Rain, hail, sleet and snow = Soup

As I sit here looking out of the window it is hailing.  Yesterday it snowed and blew a gale.  Inside the fire is on and it is the perfect weather for soup.

Last year I planted silver beet in the garden, this year it has gone crazy.  I love plants that require little attention, basically this got no attention, and yet they give so much.  I trawled the net to find a recipe to use some of it up and found one on taste.com for Creamy Silverbeet soup.  It was basically a potato and leek soup with added silver beet.

13650576_10154463586289781_932081283_n

I love recipes that are quick and easy and utilise the ingredients I have in the pantry.  If I don’t have all of the ingredients then I add what I have.  I changed this particular recipe to make it healthier.  The result was amazing and I nearly died when my two teenagers loved it!!  You know its a winner when they munch down on a bowl without moaning 🙂

Here is my version of the recipe (I don’t really measure ingredients but prefer to go on taste an texture.)

4 small potatoes (I left the skin on)

3/4 leek

Clove garlic

Fry these gently in a saucepan with coconut oil.  (Coconut oil is a much healthier version that olive oil and it has a high smoke point.  More on this amazing oil and its benefits later)

The recipe asked for wine but I just used water and a product called Herbamare which I found in the local health food shop.  It is sea salt and herbs, similar to a powdered stock.

Simmer until potatoes are cooked then add a bunch of silver beet cut roughly.  (I cut out the hard stem centres on the larger leaves.)  Cook for 2-3 minutes.

Blend with a  stick mixer or in the blender.  Add a tin of coconut milk (Much less fat than cream, milk or evaporated milk) and reheat.

At this stage I tasted it and decided to add a bit of chilli powder and sweet paprika for more flavour but you can omit these.  I added it a little bit at a time until I was happy with the taste.

By this stage I was starving!!  So I served it up and we all enjoyed a nutritious bowl of warm soup 🙂

 

Ingredients list:

Potatoes

Leek

Garlic

Coconut Oil

Silverbeet

Coconut milk

Chilli Powder

Sweet Paprika

 

Leave a Reply

